Board of Directors

WIOCC is governed by a board with representation from each shareholder company. The board is chaired by Chipo Mtasa, who works closely with the 14 other board members.

Chipo Mtasa, Chairperson


Chipo MtasaChipo Mtasa is an accomplished chief executive whose career has spanned sectors and earned her a reputation for operational efficiency; long-term viability and stellar leadership acumen. A Chartered Accountant by profession and a seasoned executive by repeated appointments and achievements, Chipo has leveraged intense product and technical expertise to build competitive advantage for the companies she has led.

She is the current Managing Director of TelOne (Pvt) Limited, one of the Zimbabwe’s biggest telecommunications companies. During her tenure at the entity, Chipo has gained admiration for spurring the organisation’s emergence as one of the best performing government-linked companies through technology roll-out, improved systems efficiency, revenue-increasing strategies and improving customer experience. TelOne is a key player in the national Information Communication Technology (ICT) industry: it provides affordable communication solutions to Zimbabweans in all corners of the country, and its network is the main backbone upon which other players ride their services.

Chipo sits on several boards, including the Women’s University in Africa and FBC Holdings, one of Zimbabwe’s major financial institutions – and is also the chairperson of the Zimbabwe Tourism Authority.

She is married to Oliver and has three children.

Board Members

Mabua Mabua


George Mokogi

MD, Carrier Services Division
Telkom Kenya 

Mohamed Ahmed Jama

Dalkom Somalia

Mohamed Assoweh Bouh

Directeur Général,
Djibouti Telecom

Dan Zajicek

Gilat Satcom Nigeria Ltd

Ts’eliso ‘Mokela

Lesotho Communications Authority

Benrajab Rajab

Deputy CEO,
Libya Post, Telecom
and Information Technology

Gilbert Baranyizigiye

Directeur Général,
ONATEL Burundi

Benjamin Choppy

Seychelles Cable System Company

Mamudo Ibraimo

Telecomunicaçoes de Moçambique

Chipo Mtasa

Managing Director,
TelOne, Zimbabwe

Ben Roberts

CTO – Liquid Kenya,
U-COM Burundi

Joshua Smythwood

Director, Zantel

Bemanya Twebaze

Uganda Telecom Limited

Joe Solan 

Independent Board member